3 Profound Benefits of Practicing Mindful Sex.

And 6 principles that will guarantee a wholehearted sex experience.

Maya Melamed
8 min readDec 23, 2021
Photo by Ashley Batz on Unsplash

My journey into mindful mediation started in my early 20s.

Combining a few meditation approaches with a life-long habit of self-reflection, my understanding of mindfulness grew and evolved.

I explored different types of mindfulness practices and noticed how each affected my life.

Some worked better for me than others.

But there is one mindfulness practice that transformed my life so completely that it ended up becoming my passion.

This is the practice of mindful sex.

All of my mindfulness teachers have repeatedly mentioned that mindfulness doesn’t end at the meditation cushion. I experimented with different moving meditations and understood perfectly well that bringing that mindfulness into everyday activities is one of the most potent ways to bring acceptance and loving-kindness into my life.

Yet I somehow managed to compartmentalize sex from my life.

Sex was just this thing that I did with my partner (or by myself, mind you), and I viewed it as an activity that needs to be kept apart from everything else.

--

--